3 reasons why you NEED to visit Dubrovnik

Dubrovnik!

When we were going to visit Croatia, I was curious if it would live up to the hype.

Spoiler alert: It did.

IMG_3415

Dubrovnik is one of my favorite places because it’s so unlike any place I’ve ever been.

The old town sits behind massive walls on the Aegean Sea, with waves crashing into the rocks below. It’s a magical place.

Okay I’ll quit gushing and tell you the 3 reasons you should visit Dubrovnik ASAP!

The walled city.

This is what makes this city so unique. My favorite thing I did here is walk on the mile-long stretch of wall that surrounds the city. You can climb up in the fortresses and there isn’t a bad view from any point.

IMG_3396

All of the roofs in the old city are a terracotta color. It is so beautiful sitting against the bright blue water!

17635106_10208797530081076_4247813036256945653_o

Game of Thrones! 

If you’re a Game of Thrones fan, this alone is a reason to come here. We took a tour to check out all of the spots where they filmed scenes in the show.

IMG_3349

This tour guide brought along pictures so you could compare the scenes with what’s actually there in real life!

The water.

Croatia is known for its beautiful rocky cliffs and clear, blue water.

I couldn’t stop staring at the water the whole time we were there! We only visited for a day, but I saw a lot of people kayaking to nearby islands – a must do next time we visit!

IMG_3325

I hope you enjoyed this post!

Have you been to Croatia or is it on your travel bucket list?

If you enjoyed this post, please be sure to hit “FOLLOW”!

Oh, and check out my Twitter and Instagram!

Check out my suggestions of what to do in Ephesus, Turkey!

5 thoughts on “3 reasons why you NEED to visit Dubrovnik

  1. I visited Croatia recently but deliberately avoided Dubrovnik. The city is really struggling with overtourism and is now taking steps to cut the number of tourists. It’s causing so many problems for the locals and can’t really make for a great visitor experience either. Hopefully travelers start thinking of new destinations to visit instead of thinking that they HAVE to see all the same places.

    Like

Leave a comment